St. Matthias Roman Catholic Church
101 W. Burrell Drive
Crown Point, IN  46307


Fr. James E. Wozniak, Pastor
Fr. Joseph Vamos, Senior Priest

Gregory Fabian, Deacon


Pastoral Council

BulletinsContact Us
Mass Schedule
Ministry ScheduleParish Life CommissionPastoral CouncilPeace & Social JusticeRCIAReligious Education
Sign-Up Form
Spirituality & WorshipStewardship



The Pastoral Council is a consultative body which works with the pastor in setting policy, establishing goals, objectives, and action that encompasses the mission of the parish community.  The Pastoral Council consists of the pastor, deacon and twelve parish members selected through a discernment process.  The twelve members consist of five commission liaisons and seven-at-large members.  The five commissions are: 

Spirituality and Worship, Peace and Social Justice, Stewardship and Administration, Education, and Parish Life.  All the ministries and committees operate under the guidance of one of the commissions.

Pastoral Council Selection
The Pastoral Council members are selected through a discernment process.  Parish members either volunteer or are invited to attend the process by recommendation.  After accepting the offer to attend, there are a series of prayerful meetings.  At these meetings, the Spirit is called upon to be present so that the parish is open to the broadest possible input from the community.  The opportunity for prayer and reflection is provided at each step of the process. Discernment of the Pastoral Council membership is a process of prayer, formation, and a deepening of people's relationship with the Lord as individuals and as a community of believers.

The Pastoral Council members serve a term of three years.  The Council normally meets on the second Monday of the month.  All members of the parish are welcome to attend.